The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Pancakes, sock pouches, spooky pictures and scissors October 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thebotheredowl @ 2:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

So far, these are the things my day has been made of.

It’s drizzly, grey and miserable outside, so we didn’t do pre-school this morning. After the high temperature hi-jinks of the other night, it just felt a little uncomfortable to take a baby with even a low-grade temp out in the rain. So Orlaith is stuck at home with me today instead.

In the spirit of overcompensating, we made pancakes for breakfast:

Mix a pancake, stir a pancake, pop it in the pan...

Mix a pancake, stir a pancake, pop it in the pan...

Chief Pancake Taster at work

Chief Pancake Taster at work

In case you’re consumed with a burning need to know, we (loosely) used the recipe from Vegan With A Vengeance, it’s good recipe and works fairly consistently. And when spread with a little golden syrup, any minor faults with my pancake mixing somehow disappear…

Post breakfast splurge I asked Orlaith what we should do today and she stunned me by not asking to watch television. I was a little gobsmacked, as we usually have a square eyes revolution on our hands if she’s off from school, but she actually wanted to do some craft with me. So we made some spooky pictures:

A bat, a big blue pumpkin and a spooooky moon with eyes

A bat, a big blue pumpkin and a spooooky moon with eyes

She wanted to do a picture of a pumpkin – we’re very into The Nightmare Before Christmas – under a spooky moon. The bat was my idea but the rest was all Orlaith’s. I did the cutting out and helped her spread the glue and she told me what she wanted me to do. The pumpkin’s name is Fungus, the moon is called Pumpkin Fred and the bat is called Wally.

It’s a nice easy rainy day activity, if you have felt or fabric scraps, give it a go and see what your small people come up with. They’re remarkably inventive creatures!

Which brings me to the sock pouch section of today’s update.

I finally finished it and I’m not _entirely_ happy with how it turned out, but it’s not too shabby either. Definitely needs tweaking before I could start adding them to the shop though.

I used some beautiful Japanese fabrics I bought on ebay. I love the dragons and I have the wave print in several different colours. I use a couple of fat quarters as scarves.

I used some beautiful Japanese fabrics I bought on ebay. I love the dragonflies and I have the wave print in several different colours. I use a couple of fat quarters as scarves.

Again, I used a Japanese linen/cotton fabric I got off ebay for the lining. I'm not sure if the contrast works or not.

Again, I used a Japanese linen/cotton fabric I got off ebay for the lining. I'm not sure if the contrast works or not.

You can knot the drawstring to make a nice loop to carry the pouch around. The beads are the finishing touch, they're from Peru. I got a bunch of different ones from a fairtrade shop a few years ago and have been hunting for a good project for them ever since.

You can knot the drawstring to make a nice loop to carry the pouch around. The beads are the finishing touch, they're from Peru. I got a bunch of different ones from a fairtrade shop a few years ago and have been hunting for a good project for them ever since.

The pouch is definitely big enough for a couple of good sized balls of yarn, needles and notions, and a folded up pattern. I was worried it might be a little too big for my purposes, but actually I’m quite pleased with the size. You could even use it to stick a nappy or two in, if you didn’t want to schlepp a massive handbag about with you.

And finally, I thought it might be a good idea to spend some time chopping up fabric for more flowers this morning. Most of it is leftovers, I’ve mixed up some leftover slightly stretchy denim from skirt making frenzy with some lovely Moda quilting fabric, and I’ve also got some more of the Japanese dragonflies, mixed with a lovely Japanese linen.

Stack-o-flowers

Stack-o-flowers

And now I am completely knackered and need to go have a cup of tea and a nap. Which means I will actually spend the rest of the afternoon being poked and shouted at by my children.  “Wake up, Mummy! NO SLEEPING.”

 

Leave a Reply

