The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Ode to you Oh Brockley Christmas Market December 14, 2009

Filed under: markets — thebotheredowl @ 6:33 pm
Tags: ,

After setting up the Ladywell market with Sarah, Scott and I headed home to grab the stuff for the Brockley market, and hightailed it to the bus. We arrived with plenty of time, and set up the market while various curious passers-by were milling about.

Once the stall was ready to go, Scott headed off in search of sustenance. He came back with two egg and bacon rolls. Perfect for the wintery day ahead. The weather was clear, but very cold and quite windy at times. I had rugged up warm with multiple layers, and a scarf and hat. But still, that wind took its toll on my poor legs!

We made a steady number of sales during the day. Most sales were of Lego items, however I did manage to sell some bags and even one of our lovely baby blankets! I guess at this time of year the majority of sales will be for small, unusual/quirky items that will be good stocking stuffers or for people who will appreciate cute stuff! And Lego jewellery is certainly quirky. I was very pleased that we sold a number of sets of cufflinks. When I first started making Lego jewellery, I was wary of making it too female-oriented. Afterall, if you look at Lego itself, most of the characters are in fact men! So, in that respect, cufflinks and keyrings were popular purchases for the boys.

It made me very happy to hear people reminiscing about the Lego I’d made into items. There were plenty of smiles and “I had one of these!!” comments. Lego really is such a classic toy, that appeals to most people. Especially if they played with it as a child. Lots of positive comments on our stuff which is always great and makes it all worthwhile.

After a very cold and successful day, Scott met me and helped me pack up. I was still selling things even after other stall holders had packed up and went home! We headed home to a nice hot shower and to collapse on the couch happy and exhausted.

A reminder that if you are in the UK and you would like to order something from our Folksy shop, please do so by this Friday! It’s the last posting date to guarantee you’ll receive your stuff by Xmas! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

