The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Really not much of anything January 19, 2010

Filed under: General Crafty Chat — thebotheredowl @ 1:43 pm

I’m in a bit of a slump this week.

All of my excitement and energy from last week’s marathon cutting and ironing session has just floated off into the ether, leaving me feeling slightly at a loss.

I largely finished one hat, made of dinosaur fabric. It’s super cute but  the rest of the massive To Do pile is still sitting on the table, mocking me with its lack of seams and shaping.

It doesn’t help that I know we have to write several fair applications and get them sent off this week and make up our minds about another fair and whether or not we can afford to go to it. Thinking about the amount of work that preparing for this fair in particular will entail is making my stomach churn.

Other things that don’t help: two small people running around shrieking at the top of their lungs and fighting each other for all they’re worth. Plus, Esme has suddenly figured out how to open our rubbish bin. So far she’s only been putting things in but I just know, sooner or later, she’s going to do Something Terrible.

It’s kind of difficult to really want to sit down at the sewing machine with all this going on.

On the plus side, Alex came over yesterday to hang out and chat, and she sat down at the sweing machine and made herself some really lovely cushion covers. I shall prod her to take some picures to share, because they are very cool!

Sarah

 

3 Responses to “Really not much of anything”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Scott Dyball, The Bothered Owl. The Bothered Owl said: Really not much of anything: http://wp.me/pB5Gc-bb […]

  2. Gina Says:

    Perhaps you should back off the markets and do some more creating for yourself… gotta keep the love!

    • Yep, but also gotta make back the money we’ve stuck in so far!

      I’m taking it a bit slower this week, I’ve made two hats, over a couple of nights. I don’t have a specific deadline at the moment, so it’s a bit silly to rush :->

      And I am also spending some time knitting myself a lovely cardigan, but it’s much slower than sewing so I’m not blogging about it, as it would just be , “wow, fifteen more rows this evening and it still looks like… a shapeless black strip of knitting!”
      It’s very relaxing though :->


Leave a Reply

