The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

As promised… Tiny, tiny knitted garments February 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thebotheredowl @ 8:06 pm

My friend Clare had her baby, Delphi, last week. I am yet to meet her wee one, but I thought I would share with you the photos of the cute items I made.

I followed a pattern for only one of these. The little vest is called the Dear Wee Baby Singlet, and is a free pattern. It is a free ravelry download for thoseof you signed up on Ravelry.

The other items I made the pattern myself. The hat I cast on 80 stitches, did a 2 by 2 ribbing for an inch or so, changed to stockinette stitch, and decreased for the top. The knot at the top was made by decreasing the hat’s stitches until I had about 8 or 9. I then knitted these stitches into a tube about 10cm long and cast off. Then I just tied the tube in a knot. This type of hat is called an umbilical hat, and there are numerous patterns out there online for them.

The mittens I cast on 60 stitches, and did a long section of 1 by 1 rib. I figured a nice long section of ribbing could either be folded down, or could be used for extra warmth on Delphi’s wrists. Then changed to stockinette stitch. Decreased for the top and voila! Rinse and repeat for a pair, and there you go.

All I need now is to see Delphi in her cute little outfit, and to give her a cuddle.

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

