The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

It’s Thursday… February 4, 2010

Filed under: General Crafty Chat — thebotheredowl @ 11:39 am
Tags: , , ,

…which means it’s time for My Creative Space.

This week my crafting has migrated from the sofa to the floor. I’ve been spending most evenings parked on my butt in front of Battlestar Galactica (no spoilers please, we’re only on Season 3 and I don’t want to know.) Rather than waste the time just passively watching telly, I’ve had my big pile of fabric for yarn pouches beside me and I’ve been slowly working through a pile of bag shells. I’ve got about twenty of the suckers cut out now, 11 of which now have lining fabric and interfacing.

I now know I can get 11 bags out of a 3 yard piece of Vilene interfacing. Exciting, no? No.

Anyway, here are some pics of what I’ve done so far. Hopefully at some point I’ll be able to get some Alone Time with my sewing machine and you’ll actually get to see these as finished objects.

As always, you should head over to Kirsty’s for more Creative Spaces and to play along yourself. It’s tonnes of fun!

Sarah

 

4 Responses to “It’s Thursday…”

  1. Gina Says:

    It’s a GREAT skill to know how many bags you can get out of that expensive stuff!

    Meant to say how cute your girls are a while back. Orlaith is a dead ringer for you, my dear… I hope she has your rockin’ sense of humour too. Certainly has your brains and good looks 🙂

    • Man, I cannot believe how much Vilene costs! They must make the glue from processed unicorn sh*t and gold or something.
      Ahem.
      I tried using the non-branded stuff they had for sale in our local fabric shop but it melted and burned and got air pockets. Turns out that it was actually worth paying the extra for the branded one in this case, because it goes on like a charm and actually does its job.

      People keep telling me that Orlaith looks like me, I see it a bit more these days, although she seems to have missed out on my enormous schnozz! Lucky child :->

  2. Kirsty Says:

    The birds are lovely.

    Yup you want to make sure you get the most out of expensive supplies.


Leave a Reply

