The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Misty Moon Market (now a few moons ago…) March 29, 2010

Filed under: markets — thebotheredowl @ 1:30 pm

Well, okay, it was held on the 20th of March. Technically, just 9 days ago!

Sarah had a family birthday party to attend, so my partner Scott helped me carry everything to the church hall. We were very lucky that we could actually walk to this venue from home. Although we’d decided to book two tables so we’d have ample room. so of course that meant we brought more stuff!

The hall was light and airy, however there just were not very many people around on the day. We even had a celebrity to open the fair (Graham Cole of The Bill). Graham hung around for most of the day in fact. He was really lovely and genuinely enjoyed chatting to people and finding out more about craft in South East London. He himself is a long time resident of SE London. He loved our stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ I even had my photo taken with him.

And just as the market opened I had my photo taken for the local paper. For the Newshopper to be exact. I’ve seen the proof online (the one with Copyright symbols all over the middle) and I’m very glad that I’m out of focus! Should be in the paper this week.

Sales wise the market was honestly pretty sad. But, we met some lovely crafters we’d “friended” online on UK Handmade and Folksy. And we were given the details of another market to doย in July. So all in all, not a bad day. And we’ve become such a regular at these Misty Moon Markets (we’ve done 4 now!) that we’re friends with the organiser and his wife and a few of the other stallholders too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Right, so now to the photos. Our lovely readers can finally see what I look like. Aren’t you lucky? Anyway…

…and the one I know you’ve all been *dying* to see…..

Alex

 

6 Responses to “Misty Moon Market (now a few moons ago…)”

  1. val Says:

    We were also at the Misty Moon craft event. It was dire, and would never go back to that venue again. Poor people in the undercroft were even worse off than us sellers in the hall. It was a shame as there was loads of nice hand crafted stuff but no customers. Woe is me

    • Hi Val, I’m really sorry to hear you had a rotten day at MM. I guess that’s the thing about doing craft fairs, hey. You never know what you’re going to get. We’ve had times at MM where we’ve had an amazing day and made loads of sales and others where there’s just nobody about or you get people coming in but just not interested in buying.
      The fact that it’s so changeable is part of what makes it fun but it is also so heartbreaking when you have a bad day. I hope your next market will be more successful.
      Sarah :->

  2. arianna Says:

    And Val, you had lovely things (you are Lisa’s friend,right?)!!Shame,really..I’ve only got one sale in the last 30 mins or so of the fair..but it’s true, you get to meet loads of nice people!!
    P.S. I recognize that bag!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Exactly! I’ve found that even if I don’t make many sales at a market I might give out a few cards, which might lead to sales. Or I might meet other crafters and then they may hear of another market and let me know or pass my details onto someone. You never know what may come of it. BUt it IS frustrating!

  3. Lisa Goldzieher Says:

    On a positive note, your stall is looking really great Sarah and Alex!


Leave a Reply

