The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

It’s Custom-ary April 7, 2010

Filed under: Custom Orders — thebotheredowl @ 10:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

Did you see what I did there?

Anyway, crap puns aside, I just finished a custom order and I am very proud of it and feel the need to boast.

Alex took the order when we did the Misty Moon the other week. The design brief (*snicker* I feel silly saying that!) was for two bags, big enough to hold A4 sized books, and they needed to be sturdy, fun and not frumpy. I knew the colour palette that the customer, Marian, liked so I sent her some photos of possible fabric swatches. She picked the exact three I had a feeling she would go for:

(image courtesy of Fabric Rehab)

(Image courtesy of Fabric Rehab)

Here’s what I came up with:

The second bag is lined with a beautiful summery blue cotton. I couldn’t quite get the blue fabric to work with the others, it just didn’t quite gel. So I had to abandon it and go with the fabrics that wanted to play together. I double stitched the handles and I mitred the inside corners of the bag bottoms to give them a lovely fullness. I’m quite proud of how they turned out.

I am also very proud of Alex because look what she made yesterday:

I talked her through how to pin everything in place and showed her how to change from a presser foot to a zipper foot and so forth, but she did all the actual sewing herself. I think it turned out rather well! I’ll have her making hats in no time…

Sarah

P.S. If you’ve got something you would like me to make for you, just get in touch via email or in the comments! We’re always happy to help and I like a challenge.

 

4 Responses to “It’s Custom-ary”

  1. Mary Says:

    Alex, beautiful fabric, very you, well done, now you will be able to teach me how to sew with zippers!

  2. arianna Says:

    Sarah, they are great! I so love the second one, it has amazing colours and pattern!
    I asked a friend to teach me how to sew,really hope she’ll make some time for me!! 🙂
    well done!

    • Thank you! I love the seed pod fabric range. They are just so beautiful. And they combine together so well.
      Keep poking your friend, and if she doesn’t have time to teach you, have a look on Amazon. There are some amazingly helpful books out there, with loads of instructions. And plenty of websites too with basic instructions.


Leave a Reply

