The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Delightful bundle of exquisite loveliness October 5, 2010

Filed under: General Crafty Chat — thebotheredowl @ 9:16 am
Tags:

Ohh, I am a happy obsessive sewer/fabric hoarder!

I just got my parcel from Fancy Moon, “Purveyors of Fine Fabrics”. That they certainly are. Oh yes.

Want to see what I got?

Well, tough, I’m showing you anyway!

Mini-Calaveras on turquoise

And in black

Anyone sensing a theme here?

Naughty little tattoo lady

Same again on black

I like being able to offer a choice of base fabric colours in my work. So often, you see something in a shop and think “Oh, that’s really cool, if it was just X colour rather than Y, it’d be perfect.” This way, you get a choice!

And just to offer a contrast with the delightful skulls and tatts, here is some gorgeous seedpod fabric from the same order:

Seedheads and pods on turquoise

I sold a bag or two  in this fabric and a needle roll and people kept asking if I had any more.

It’s one of my favourite fabrics from this year’s purchases – which may surprise some people, especially given my penchant for the more gothic and eccentric stuff. But this and the Carolyn Gavin fabrics featuring nature inspired shapes and colours have been far and away my favourites this year. There’s something very beautiful in the shapes and colours, the way they suggest texture and movement. A little breath of fresh air.

Most of these are intended to be used in preparation for another big show we have coming up – more on that anon. But as always, if you see something you like, get in touch, ask us what we can do for you. Before I have a chance to start snipping and chopping!

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

