The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

How to Make Bunting February 2, 2011

Filed under: Tutorials,Uncategorized — thebotheredowl @ 9:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

Here is a step by step guide to how I made The Bothered Owl’s bunting.

We have a lot of fabric scraps, so I thought this was a great way of using them up. And of course, we get to show people all (well, some) of the amazing fabrics we have used over the last year and a half. I chose brightly coloured, fun fabrics.

You will need:

Pencil

Ruler

Rotary cutter and mat

Paper or cardboard for template

Bias binding for the entire length of the bunting

Fabric (ours was already interfaced, but that’s a personal choice)

I made a template for the flags with a piece of paper. Then using our fabulous rotary cutter and self-healing board, I laid out several piece of fabric on top of each other, placed the ruler over the top, and sliced! Having the rotary cutter made the job so much easier.

Next step is to iron a seam into them. I used the bias binding as a guide for folding the top seam. I then ironed this top seam so it was nice and crisp.

Fold the top seam to be the same width as the bias binding

Iron the seam

Time to get out the pinking shears! Now that your seam is done, you’ll notice that there’s overlap. Trimming the edges with pinking shears stops the edges from fraying.

Overlap is trimmed by the pinking shears

Rinse and repeat. You’ll now have a stack of flags.

Almost there!

Now comes the pinning. Get your bias binding tape, leave about 30 cm at one end, and pin on your first flag.

Decide on how you'll order your flags

When pinning the flags on, be conscious of which direction they will be going through the sewing machine. I pinned all of my flags on so they were pointing to the left, and the pin heads facing towards me (points away). This ensured that I could remove the pins as I sewed each flag.

Note the direction of the pins

Now to the sewing! Set your machine to a zig zag stitch. I set the width about 4 (out of 5).

Sew Sew Sew!

Coincidentally the zigzag stitch almost matches the pinking shears

Remember to remove the pins as you sew, as they are in line with the foot, and may get tangled/broken.

And there you have it. Keep zigzagging all the way along until you reach the end of your flags.

Bunting! There you have it.

We’ll be using ours on our stall at Unravel at the end of February. Check back in at the end of the month to see photos of the bunting in place. But for now, here is the bunting draped elegantly on my sewing machine…

Fluttering in the breeze

Happy sewing!

Alex 🙂

 

2 Responses to “How to Make Bunting”

  1. Mary Says:

    Beauuuuuuuutiful!!! And attention-grabbing! Clever idea!

  2. I tried to do create my own bunting using flowery paper but got bored of the same pattern on each flag. I think I’ll go scrap shopping at local fabric shop!
    Well done!


Leave a Reply

