The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

Wonderwool Wales 2011 April 18, 2011

Filed under: markets,Uncategorized — thebotheredowl @ 8:10 pm
Tags: , ,

The Bothered Owl attended Wonderwool Wales for the very first time this year. Held in Builth Wells, it was the third year that the show had run, and this year was the biggest yet.

The show took place at the Royal Welsh Showground,in a very large shed. We were amazingly lucky with the weather, and had glorious sunshine and blue skies.

Scott and I left for Wales a day early, so we could be tourists. We headed to Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch. It had been on my to see list for a while, and with our hire car, it was an easy detour.

We also checked out Beaumaris Castle, the Menai Strait, and Caernarfon Castle. Scott and I had a lovely time being tourists on our way to Wonderwool Wales. The calm before the storm!

Menai Strait

Caernarfon Castle

Beaumaris Castle

We arrived in Builth Wells after a long drive from Caernarfon in the late afternoon. We unloaded and began to set up.

We had a corner stall

Saturday was a super busy day. We had a lovely day chatting to customers, selling loads of fabric envelopes, bags and of course stitch markers, and enjoying the atmosphere.

Sunday was quieter. We rearranged the layout of the stall so we had the two tables in an L-shape. This seemed to work better. We both wandered around to see what else there was on offer. There was an amazing range of fibre, yarn, and notions on offer. From Manx Loaghtan sheep to Angora bunnies, there really was something for everyone !

Thank you to everyone who came to our stall to shop, to chat and to browse.

And now for some pictures:

Our fruity stitch markers

Yummy stitch markers on our table

Our fimo cake stitch markers

Angora Bunny

Manx Loaghtan sheepies

 

7 Responses to “Wonderwool Wales 2011”

  1. Ginny Says:

    Looks like you had a great time. Love all the pictures.
    Wow cake stitch markers – I would not be able to cope, just
    want to eat them!

  2. cazhugs Says:

    aww your stuff is so cute πŸ™‚ I wish I had a stall somewere πŸ˜› Oh but I loved seeing your pics of Wales, my dad is from caernarvon so i spent a lot of time there visiting my Nan! He can say that really long word ib Welsh but he gets fed up of me asking haha!!

  3. Nicky Says:

    Hi.
    I’m new to knitting and havent yet come across a need for stitch markers. what would you use them for?
    I’ve seen yours on Folksy and really fancy some.
    Thanks
    Nicky

    • Hi Nicky

      Stitch markers are used for marking the places in your work where you need to increase or decrease a stitch, for example when doing bust or waist shaping in a jumper or cardigan. You can also use them to mark out pattern repeats in things like lace knitting or to mark the start of a row when you’re knitting in the round – like for socks. They can be really useful!
      My personal favourite one is a Lego dinosaur that Alex gave me last year. He’s so cute and makes me smile whenever I get back to the start of a row!

      • Nicky Says:

        oh ok, thanks. I havent knitted anything in the round yet. I think you had a look at my blog so as you see, i’m not that good yet.
        I’ll be back to folksy for some when i get to that point.
        thanks again. Nicky


Leave a Reply

