The Bothered Owl

Alex and Sarah's crafty corner of cyberspace

The Create Place May 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thebotheredowl @ 9:14 pm

The Create Place is a fabulous new project being run in east London (Bethnal Green). It is a space that aims to bring crafters, artists, learners and shoppers together. They run workshops, offer space for people to drop in and learn skills, run craft-based parties and evening functions, and sell hand-crafted items.

When I saw The Create Place calling for crafters to sell in their pop-up shop for Mother’s Day, I knew I had to be involved. I popped along for a chat with Jill, the creative force behind The Create Place. There was a lovely vibe about the place – light, airy, and full of crafty knowledge just bursting to be shared.

As I am selling stuff in the shop, I will also work in the shop as part of the collective idea to keep the place running. I did my first shift there on Monday, and I had a lovely time. The shop was pretty quiet being a Bank Holiday, but I kept myself busy with chatting to another volunteer Andrea, and by wiring lots of Lego.

I’ll be heading back to the shop on May 22nd and 29th. If you’re in the area, swing by and say hello!

Alex 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

